Note: the ability to share views is a Business plan feature only 🚀
User can make live edits to anything visible to them in the view.
If someone has access to only a View/s, then they can only see that View/s.
If someone has access to a Model and to a View within that model, they will be able to see both.
When you share a view with someone else (and give them either Can edit within view or Can suggest edits access), they are only allowed to make certain edits to the model.
In general, they can only update the variables and categories that are visible, and they cannot make any structural changes to the model. Here are the changes that are allowed:
If you have a view that filters a certain category to only include some items, users you share that view with can only update those items. They can:
- Rename the items (e.g. rename “Engineering” to “AI”)
- Update the formulas for those items (e.g. change Projected Equipment Costs from $100,000 to $200,000 for the Sales department)
These permissions also account for mappings. For example, if you have a category called Employees, where each employee is mapped to a Department, and you share a view including the Engineering department, then the person you share with can:
- Add Engineering employees
- Remove Engineering employees currently mapped to the Engineering department
- Rename Engineering employees
- Update formulas for Engineering employees (e.g. change Base Salary from $100,000 to $120,000 for a certain employee)
If the person you share with tries to make a change they’re not allowed to make, Causal will block the change and notify them.
If the view you share filters out certain variables, then users will neither be able to see nor update those hidden variables.
If the view you share filters out certain scenarios, then users will neither be able to see nor update those hidden scenarios.